Facets of Lucy

Looking at the various side of a life

Cars as Stars

Leave a comment

This photograph came to me from my stepfather’s family.  It was from an album clearly illustrating a family visit.  I’ve no idea what kind of car it is, but the man in the picture is obviously very proud.

Family Photo – Facets of Lucy

We Americans love our cars.  As I go through family albums as I have in the last few months, I can’t help but notice all the cars in the background.  Some are very old and lots are wonderful – why did fins go out of style?  I’m no expert on automobiles so I can give the year of the photograph on some but wouldn’t guess at any year of any car.  But I thought it might be fun to feature the family member so often in the background – the family car.

Family Photo – Facets of Lucy

Family Photo – Facets of Lucy

Family Photo – Facets of Lucy

Check out the fins on this baby

Family Photo – Facets of Lucy

“The Captain” – Best Car Ever

My Fiat 124 – Unique but affordable in 1979

Our Going-Away Car in 1982

My Parent’s Going-Away Car

This last car is one I spotted the other day. Do you remember the Ford Pinto? I remember we used to joke about a Ford Pinto (recalled for suspected dangerous placement of the gas tank in the rear of the car, leading to explosions in rear-end collisions) being hit by behind by an Audio 5000, recalled for unexpected acceleration issues back in the 1970’s.

Ford Pinto

,

Leave a comment