Facets of Lucy

Looking at the various side of a life

Take the Risk!

Leave a comment

Have you ever had a great idea?  Most of us do from time to time; you know, that moment when you think, “There ought to be a better way” and you see the better way?

When my children were playing sports, they always needed mouth guards; you know the kind.  At least in the early years, you molded them to fit your child’s mouth by dropping them in boiling water, then quickly putting in the mouth and having them bite down. It’s not a real fun piece of equipment.  Children lose them frequently.  My husband and I quickly learned to keep a couple mouth guards in the glove compartments of our cars.  Whether it was our child or someone else’s. we found ourselves restocking frequently.

Through field hockey, ice hockey, football and lacrosse, our battles with mouth guards continued. But I had an idea – a great one I thought.  These things are pretty nasty; what if we made them more appealing?  FLAVORS!!  I imagined flavored mouthguards – cherry, mint, bubble gum and more.  They’d be more pleasant to put in your mouth and there’d be a reason not to lose yours since you personally picked out your flavor.  My idea went further to imagine that they could be disposable.  Use them once or twice and then pitch them.  Or buy a bag of a certain flavor at a time.  But I never did anything with my idea.  I didn’t know how to start or where to look for help.

Then this weekend, we went to a local sporting goods story.  Do I need to tell you what was for sale on the end cap? Flavored mouth guards, of course!  For adults, for children in fruit punch, lemon, mint, orange and even bubble gum. My husband even bought one!  Check them out , at least they prove to me that my idea was a good one.
Have you ever had a good idea?  If so, remember my story and take a chance to pursue it.  You never know.

Leave a comment